Apple News

Apple News generates little income for smaller publishers, curators take pitches from publishers on dedicated Slack channel

  By Mike Wuerthele Wednesday, February 14, 2018, 08:25 am PT (11:25 am ET) Apple’s editorial team reportedly takes pitches from large reporting venues on a private Slack channel, and a team of about a dozen staffers decide if the story lives or dies on Apple News, and as a result, what makes money from […]

Apple News

Flipboard CEO knocks Apple News for closed ecosystem, says product is ‘living in the past’

  By Mikey Campbell Tuesday, February 13, 2018, 06:50 pm PT (09:50 pm ET) Flipboard CEO Mike McCue had a few choice words for segment competitor Apple News, describing Apple’s news service as “living in the past” because it does not curate media, offers no social sharing integrations and lacks other features that would set […]

Technology

Facebook is creating a news section in Watch to feature breaking news

Facebook is going to create a new news section in its video streaming platform Facebook Watch to feature breaking news stories. The move, which Campbell Brown, the company’s year-old head of news partnerships, announced onstage at the Code Media conference in Huntington Beach, is part of a broader evolution of Facebook’s news strategy. Facebook launched […]

Microsoft

This week in esports news: Teaming up for Fortnite and the girls showing how it’s done

Fortnite hasn’t got an esports scene yet, but that hasn’t prevented some teams forming up around the popular Battle Royale title. Other news this week includes a Canadian taking down stiff competition in StarCraft II, bagging $50,000 and the expansion of the Overwatch League to bring more teams to the league table. Canada brings home […]